Referrals: The More You Give, the More You Get


The fight-or-flight response in nature is well-documented. But it’s also easy to see this behavior manifested in the act of selling, where there’s such a high probability of ego damage. For homebased entrepreneurs with a personal and deeply emotional bond to their product or service, it may be even tougher. Every time you place an ad, send a proposal, fax a flyer, start a direct-marketing campaign, call a prospect-basically every time you open your mouth, there’s the possibility of ego damage.

When it comes to getting new business, then, it’s hard not to take flight. I hate cold calls-in fact, I avoid them like the plague. Any possible reason for not making a call, I’ll take it. Of course, my ego remains healthy, but the success of my business as a sales trainer suffers as a result. Don’t get me wrong: I still love meeting people, sharing new ideas and learning about other people’s businesses. It just seems so much easier when I know I’m not trying to put food on a plate or clothes on my two kids-you know, when I’m not selling!

Written by JAMES MADUK

To read the full article, click here.

This entry was posted in Business, business networking, Business Referrals, Networking, Referrals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

